President Cyril Ramaphosa has approved the salaries for a number of top government and parliamentary positions.

In a gazette published on Tuesday (14 June), the president announced the salaries will take effect retroactively from 1 April 2021, with remuneration structured as follows:

  • A basic salary component equal to 60% of the total package, which constitutes the pensionable salary;
  • An amount of R120,000 per annum as per section 8(1)(d) of the Income Tax Act;
  • An employer’s pension benefit contribution equal to 22.5% of pensionable salary.
  • A flexible portion for the remaining amount of the total remuneration.

Based on these latest salaries, deputy president David Mabuza will now receive R2,910,234 – a close to R100,000 increase from his total remuneration package last year.

By comparison, the country’s ministers and deputy ministers will now receive R2,473,682 and R2,037,129 respectively.

Position Total remuneration
Deputy President R2 910 234
Minister R2 473 682
Deputy Minister R2 037 129

Members of parliament and other senior legislative figures also received increases, with the speaker of the national assembly Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula set to take home over R2.9 million. The leader of the opposition John Steenhuisen has been given a pay bump to R1.64 million.

Position Total remuneration
Speaker: National Assembly R2 910 234
Chairperson: NCOP R2 910 234
Deputy Speaker: National Assembly R2 037 129
Deputy Chairperson: NCOP R2 037 129
House Chairperson R1 938 963
Chief Whip: Majority Party R1 648 481
Chief Whip: NCOP R1 648 481
Parliamentary Counsellor: President R1 648 481
Parliamentary Counsellor: Deputy President R1 648 481
Leader of Opposition R1 648 481
Chairperson of a Committee R1 540 628
Deputy Chief Whip: Majority Party R1 386 619
Chief Whip: Largest Minority Party R1 386 619
Leader of a Minority Party R1 386 619
Whip R1 286 713
Member: National Assembly R1 172 071
Permanent Delegate: NCOP R1 172 071

Read: South Africa’s municipalities have been broken for years – and nothing is getting fixed: auditor-general