The South Africa Revenue Service (SARS) has announced that 18 of its tax branches would not be in operation on Tuesday (12 July) as its staff embark on a wage strike.

“We apologise for any inconvenience caused but due to Industrial Action taking place across SARS, we are experiencing delays in servicing our taxpayers,” it said.  The revenue collector urged the public to continue to make use of its digital services during this time.

SARS staff first embarked on strike in May, when labour and the employer could not settle on a wage agreement. The National Education, Health and Allied Workers’ Union (Nehawu) and Public Servants Association (PSA) say they will now continue with industrial action, citing the ‘successful’ strike at Eskom and SARS’s proposed wage increase of 1.39%.

The revenue collector has previously said that it simply did not have the resources to meet labour demands of CPI plus 7%.

“SARS has left us with no option other than to mobilise our mass power and take our battle to the streets. This is the only power that we have as workers in fighting unfair conditions of work. We have been negotiating in good faith and with much patience,” Nehawu said.

“SARS has stalled and negotiated in bad faith. It is for these reasons that as Nahwu, we cannot delay the struggle to better the working conditions of our members and workers in general.

“As Nehawu, we shall do everything in our power to fight for these reasonable and achievable demands and rights of our members and workers at SARS.”

The following tax branches and customs offices are closed:


  • Edenvale
  • Benoni
  • Randfontein
  • Springs
  • Boksburg


  • Richardsbay
  • Pietermaritzburg
  • Durban

Western Cape

  • Cape Town
  • Mitchellsplain
  • Paarl
  • Beaufort West


Eastern Cape

  • Mthatha
  • Uitenhage
  • East London

Northern Cape and Free State

  • Upington
  • Qachas (Border post)

Read: Unions threaten to shut down SARS this week